Home About Us Board of Directors
Board Of Directors

» Click on the names to view details

Vishambhar Saran, Chairman

Born on 4th December 1947 at Faizabad, U.P., Mr. Saran secured a Bachelor’s Degree in Mining Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University in 1969. He served Tata Steel for 25 years, starting from their various mines, Paradip Port and Kolkata & Jamshedpur Offices. He rose to the position of Director – Raw Materials, Tata Steel in 1988 & Director of Budgets in 1993. He availed voluntary retirement from 31st March, 1994.

Mr. Saran founded the VISA Group in April 1994 and has built it up from scratch to a significant minerals, metals and energy conglomerate.

Philanthropically, creating and improving educational and medical facilities for the poor in backward districts of Odisha, UP and West Bengal through “VISA Trust”, founded by him and his wife.

Mr. Saran is Honorary Consul of the Republic of Bulgaria for Eastern India; Trustee on the Board of Kalyan Bharti Trust & VISA Trust; Chairman of the Board of Governors, Heritage Law College, Kolkata; Member of National Executive Committee of Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce Industry (FICCI).

Formerly, Mr. Saran was the President of Indian Chamber of Commerce, Kolkata; President of Coal Consumers Association; Trustee on the Board of Chennai Port Trust; Member, Governing Council of the International Chromium Development Association, Paris; Raw Material Committee of the International Iron & Steel Institute, Brussels; CII Eastern Regional Committee; Board of Tata Sponge Iron Limited and Standard Chrome Limited.

He is a keen golfer and an avid art collector.

Vishal Agarwal, Vice Chairman & Managing Director

Mr. Agarwal holds a Bachelors Degree from London School of Economics and a Masters Degree from Oxford University. He was born in Faizabad, Uttar Pradesh and completed his schooling from Mayo College, Ajmer and Cheltenham College, UK. He has over 20 years of rich experience in the Iron & Steel industry with hands on experience of setting up greenfield projects and international trading business. During 1997 to 2004, Mr. Agarwal developed the international trading business for the VISA Group in minerals and metals including Chrome Ore, Iron Ore, Manganese Ore, Alumina, Ferro Alloys etc. Since 2004, he has built VISA Steel from scratch and transformed the Company into a leading player in Special Steel, Ferro Chrome and Coke business. His leadership has enabled Strategic Joint Venture partnerships with global Companies including Baosteel, China and SunCoke Energy, USA. He is also the Chairman of VISA SunCoke Limited.

He is a Committee Member of Indian Chamber of Commerce (ICC) and CII Eastern Regional Council in Kolkata. His Sporting activities include Golf, Tennis & Swimming. Mr. Agarwal is also actively involved in Promoting CSR activities in the areas of education and healthcare in Odisha through the VISA Trust.

Pratip Chaudhuri, Independent Director

Mr. Pratip Chaudhuri is the former Chairman of State Bank of India (SBI) and has 40 years of rich experience in banking sector. He holds Master's Degree in Science and Statistics from University of Rajasthan and is an alumnus of University Business School, Chandigarh. He has also served as the Chairman of SBI Global Factors Ltd, State Bank of Mysore, State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur, State Bank of Travancore and State Bank of Hyderabad. He was also a Director at Export-Import Bank of India and State Bank of Patiala.

Kishore Kumar Mehrotra, Independent Director

Mr. Mehrotra, is a B. Tech & M. Tech (Metallurgy) from IT, BHU. He also holds a Diploma in Industrial Engineering from IIIE, Mumbai and has over 36 years of experience in the field of design, consultancy, technology evaluation, process selection and optimization in iron and steel, energy audit, marketing in the area of oil & gas and infrastructure, project management etc.

Mr. Mehrotra superannuated from the post of Chairman-cum-Managing Director of MECON Ltd in the year 2013. He was also holding additional charge of Managing Director of Metallurgical & Engineering Consultants (Nigeria) Ltd., a joint venture company formed by MECON Limited with Delta Steel Plant, Ajaokuta Steel Plant and Nigerian Partners.

Ramya Hariharan, Independent Director

Ms. Ramya Hariharan is a corporate lawyer who specializes in mergers and acquisitions, general corporate advisory, projects and banking and finance. She is also a qualified Company Secretary. After working in Amarchand Mangaldas and co-founding Argus Partners (now called Udwadia Udeshi & Argus Partners), she has now set up her own law firm, Citadel Law Chambers. She graduated as a lawyer in 2001 and after a stint in litigation and intellectual property practice, moved on to Amarchand Mangaldas to practice corporate law. She had also received an offer to serve the bench pursuant to her successfully clearing the West Bengal Judicial Services in 2005, however, her passion for transaction advisory impelled her to continue as a lawyer.

Manas Kumar Nag, Nominee Director

Mr. Manas Kumar Nag, is an MA (Econ) and Certified Associate of the Indian Institute of Bankers (CAIIB). Mr. Nag has held senior positions in State Bank of India (SBI) including CGM (SME), ex-officio Chairman of one of the Corporate Centre Credit Committees.

Manoj Kumar, Wholetime Director designated as Director (Kalinganagar)

Mr. Manoj Kumar is a Mechanical Engineer from BIT, Mesra with 26 years of rich experience in the domestic and international procurements and project management in the iron and steel industry. Prior to joining us, he was in Tata Steel and Jindal Steel & Power. He is currently responsible for Company’s projects at Kalinganagar.