Home » About Us » Board of Directors

» Click on the names to view details

Vishambhar Saran, Chairman
Mr. Saran has experience of almost 43 years in the iron & steel industry, with over 25 years with Tata Steel in the areas of development & operations of mines, mineral beneficiation plants and ferro alloy plants, port operations and international trading of raw materials for the iron & steel industry. A mining engineer from BHU, he rose to the level of Director (Raw Materials) in Tata Steel in 1988 before taking over as Chairman of the VISA Group in 1994. In a short span of time, he has built the VISA Group into a minerals and metals conglomerate. He is the Honorary Consul of Bulgaria for Eastern India, Member of National Executive Committee of FICCI and former President of Indian Chamber of Commerce.
Vishal Agarwal, Vice Chairman & Managing Director
Mr. Agarwal holds a Bachelors degree in Economics from the London School of Economics and a Masters degree in Economics for Development from Oxford University. He has over 15 years experience in the iron & steel industry with hands on experience of setting up greenfield projects and international trading business. He is responsible for transforming VISA Steel into a leading player in the Special Steel, Coke and Ferro Chrome industry.
Debi Prasad Bagchi, Independent Director
Mr. Bagchi brings to the Board his deep knowledge of the administrative services in the State of Odisha, especially in the steel & mining sector. He has held prestigious positions of authority like Additional Secretary, Commerce – Government of India; Secretary, Ministry of Small Scale Industry – Government of India; Chief Secretary – Government of Odisha, etc. A Master of Arts in Economics and an M. Phil in Public Administration, Mr. Bagchi was also the Chairman-cum-Managing Director of Odisha Lift Irrigation Corporation and Managing Director of Odisha Mining Development Corporation Limited.
Pratip Chaudhuri, Independent Director
Mr. Pratip Chaudhuri is the former Chairman of State Bank of India (SBI) and has 40 years of rich experience in banking sector. He holds Master's Degree in Science and Statistics from University of Rajasthan and is an alumnus of University Business School, Chandigarh. He has also served as the Chairman of SBI Global Factors Ltd, State Bank of Mysore, State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur, State Bank of Travancore and State Bank of Hyderabad. He was also a Director at Export-Import Bank of India and State Bank of Patiala.
Kishore Kumar Mehrotra, Independent Director
Mr. Mehrotra, is a B. Tech & M. Tech (Metallurgy) from IT, BHU. He also holds a Diploma in Industrial Engineering from IIIE, Mumbai and has over 36 years of experience in the field of design, consultancy, technology evaluation, process selection and optimization in iron and steel, energy audit, marketing in the area of oil & gas and infrastructure, project management etc.

Mr. Mehrotra superannuated from the post of Chairman-cum-Managing Director of MECON Ltd in the year 2013. He was also holding additional charge of Managing Director of Metallurgical & Engineering Consultants (Nigeria) Ltd., a joint venture company formed by MECON Limited with Delta Steel Plant, Ajaokuta Steel Plant and Nigerian Partners.
Puja Sondhi, Independent Director
Ms. Sondhi is a Partner with Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co., Advocates & Solicitors in the General Corporate Practice with specialisation in matters relating to Joint Ventures, Mergers & Acquisitions, and Private Equity. She received her LLB degree from the premier National Law School of India University, Bangalore where she was a gold medalist. She has done her Masters in law from NYU School of Law where she was a Hauser Global Scholar and recipient of many awards. She is qualified to practice in New York and India. She holds memberships of Delhi High Court Bar Association and New York State Bar.
Manas Kumar Nag, Nominee Director
Mr. Manas Kumar Nag, is an MA (Econ) and Certified Associate of the Indian Institute of Bankers (CAIIB). Mr. Nag has held senior positions in State Bank of India (SBI) including CGM (SME), ex-officio Chairman of one of the Corporate Centre Credit Committees.
Manoj Kumar Digga, Wholetime Director designated as Director (Finance) & Chief Financial Officer
Mr. Digga is an ACA from ICAI and an ACS from ICSI with over 24 years of experience. He has played a key role in shaping the Company’s business plans and financial strategy. He is currently responsible for the finance and accounting functions of the Company. He has also played a vital role in mobilising funds for the expansion projects of the Company.
Manoj Kumar, Wholetime Director designated as Director (Kalinganagar)
Mr. Manoj Kumar is a Mechanical Engineer from BIT, Mesra with 26 years of rich experience in the domestic and international procurements and project management in the iron and steel industry. Prior to joining us, he was in Tata Steel and Jindal Steel & Power. He is currently responsible for Company’s projects at Kalinganagar.